Skip navigation

Best Picture:
Will win: Slumdog Millionaire, keeping in a tradition of Best Picture winners I hope to never see again
Should win: Milk, populism at its most artful and entertaining
If I ruled the world: Paranoid Park

Best Director:
Will win: Danny Boyle, Slumdog Millionaire
Should win: Gus Van Sant, Milk
If I ruled the world: Gus Vant Sant, Paranoid Park

Best Actor:
Will win: Mickey Rourke, The Wrestler
Should win: if you’d asked me a month ago, I’d have said Sean Penn for Milk. But Rourke’s performance has managed to age more gracefully in my mind
If I ruled the world: Rourke

Best Actress:
Will win: Kate Winslet, The Reader (meh, but considering she should have won for Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, I’m okay with it)
Should win: Melissa Leo, Frozen River
If I ruled the world: Michelle Williams, Wendy & Lucy

Best Supporting Actor:
Will win: Heath Ledger, The Dark Knight (blahblah obviously, but let’s just see this as the win he should have gotten for Brokeback Mountain)
Should win: Josh Brolin, Milk
If I ruled the world: Brolin, for creating an indelible character in spite of the clearly-drawn lines provided by a screenplay

Best Supporting Actress:
Will win: Penelope Cruz, Vicky Cristina Barcelona (which is well-deserved)
Should win: Viola Davis, Doubt
If I ruled the world: Davis

Best Original Screenplay:
Will win: Dustin Lance Black, Milk (the screenplay was clearly the worst thing about this movie, by a longshot)
Should win: Pete Docter, Jim Reardon, Andrew Stanton, WALL-E
If I ruled the world: Docter, Reardon, Stanton

Best Adapted Screenplay:
Will win: Simon Beaufoy, Slumdog Millionaire
Should win: NONE OF THEM, WOOF
If I ruled the world: Kelly Reichardt, Wendy & Lucy

Leave a Reply

